in ,

New DJI Ronin Gimbal Stabilizer Coming Soon

Save the date – September 9th 10:30PM EDT!

dji new ronin s2
Image by DJI

DJI will be announcing a new DJI Ronin handheld gimbal on September 9, 2020 at 10:30 EDT. In addition, the company has already posted a teaser image on their website, and Twitter showing a Ronin 2 ‘inspired’ carbon and red design with the RONIN insignia. 

Also, it is worth noting that the Twitter teaser has the DJI PRO designation on top of the image, which can be interpreted as either a small Ronin 2, or an upgrade to the Ronin S style handheld gimbals. 

New DJI Ronin Announcement – Sep. 9, 10:30 PM EDT

Furthermore, with competitor Zhiyun Tech releasing beefier gimbals such as the Crane 3S, and more recently the more compact Crane 2S, it makes sense for DJI to respond with an update to the Ronin S/SC style gimbals. 

DJI Ronin S2 teaser twitter
Image by DJI via Twitter

Adding more fuel to the fire, a recent leak by drone pilot and filmmaker OsitaLV, shows what appears to be a DJI Ronin S2 gimbal with very similar insignia to the official DJI teaser image. 

As a Ronin SC owner, I am not too worried about a possible new Ronin S2, as from the looks of it appears be targeting higher payloads as in rigged BMPCC 4K/6K, RED Komodo, and similar. It is not yet clear whether DJI will be announcing one or more than one new gimbals on September 9th. 

See the teaser on DJI’s website here and check out local times for the announcement below:

Local Times for DJI’s (new Ronin) Sep. 9th Event:

  • New York – 10:30 PM EDT
  • Los Angeles – 7:30 PM PDT
  • Chicago – 9:30 PM CDT
  • London – 3:30 AM BST (Sept. 10th)
  • Paris – 4:30 AM (Sept. 10th)
  • Tokyo – 11:30 AM JST (Sept. 10th)

What do you think?

Frame io v3.7 update

Frame.io v3.7 Brings Faster and More Secure Collaborative Workflow

laowa 11mm f4.5

Laowa 11mm f/4.5 FF RL for Full-Frame Mirrorless Cameras