in

Blackmagic Design Camera Update Live Stream – July 16, 2020

You may want to hold off on that EOS R5 pre-order just yet… just sayin’

Blackmagic-URSA-Mini-Pro-4.6K-Sigma-18-35mm
Image by Blackmagic Design

After releasing a new update to DaVinci Resolve 16 earlier today, Blackmagic Design will have a ‘Camera Update’ live stream, tomorrow – July 16th (2 AM 17th for Sydney, Australia). 

And while it is anybody’s guess at the moment as to what that means exactly, we’re sure to find out tomorrow. It could be a new camera altogether, or even more than one model, or some sort of a huge update to an existing camera? 

In any case, do see the starting times below and be sure to tune in to find out.

Blackmagic Design Camera Update Live Stream staring times:

  • Los Angeles, 9 AM PDT
  • New York, 12 PM EDT
  • London, 5 PM BST
  • Paris/Berlin/Europe (majority) 6 PM CET
  • Singapore 12 AM SGT (17th July)
  • Tokyo, 1 AM JST (17th July)
  • Sydney 2 AM AEST (17th July)
Pocket 6K Blackmagic Camera (1)
Image by Blackmagic Design

A New Camera or Update to Existing Models? URSA Mini G3? 

Could this mean that tomorrow Blackmagic may announce a new URSA mini Pro G3 model with a new full-frame sensor and 6K or even 8K recording? The consensus among forum users on different internet boards in the filmmaking circles is leaning toward a full-frame, high resolution camera – something like a Full-Frame URSA Mini.

But again, this is all speculation at this stage. The real answer will be revealed tomorrow. 

Full-Frame or High-Speed?

I have no idea what they’ll announce tomorrow, and this is just pure speculation on my part, but I’d rather see a new camera in the Pocket range than an update to an existing camera. Something more speciality oriented, like a high-speed 4K/120fps Pocket? Even if it comes with some limitations compared to the 6K model.

Maybe that’s a bit of a stretch, but this is Blackmagic Design after all. If there is a camera company out there that can still surprise us, then it’s Blackmagic Design. 

I have been shooting with BMD cameras for a long time, from the BMPCC 2.5K OG, to the BMPCC 6K, and have used the URSA Mini Pro on a bunch of occasions. The evolution of Blackmagic cameras over the years and their ability to deliver world-class images at a fraction of higher-tier cameras is just staggering. 

You can watch the Blackmagic Camera Update live stream below:

via [Blackmagic Design UK]

What do you think?

Zeiss Virtual Cine Expo 2020 july 15

Explore the World of ZEISS in their First Virtual Cine Expo

Sony a7siii

BREAKING: Sony a7S III to be Announced on July 28th