in ,

Blackmagic ATEM Mini and Camera Update Live Stream – Wed. 17 February 2021

Is there a new Blackmagic camera coming soon?

ATEM Mini and Camera Update event Feb 17 Blackmagic
Image by Blackmagic Design

Blackmagic Design announces live stream on new developments with ATEM Mini and Cameras for next Wednesday, February 17th 2021.

Well, it didn’t take long for Blackmagic Design to respond to flood of new cameras from the competition.

Just yesterday we say the first few leaked images from the incoming Sony FX3 cinema camera. And in the past twelve months we’ve seen quite a few new cameras including the Canon EOS C70, the RED Komodo and Sony a7s III.

A New Pocket Camera Inbound? 

And even though the announcement doesn’t explicitly say that there will be a new camera announcement, it is highly likely we may see Blackmagic announce a new Pocket camera or a completely new model in between the URSA Mini and Pocket Cinema line-up. 

Download Delicious 12K URSA Mini PRO Footage

Will they announced a new Blackmagic Pocket 8K camera? Maybe a full-frame version of the Pocket 6K? Or maybe even a new drone-oriented camera? It’s hard to say, but my money is on a re-design version of the Pocket camera in cube design, a-la Micro Cinema Camera, but with better internals, 6K and Blackmagic RAW.


The last time Blackmagic announced a new camera it was the URSA Mini Pro 12K, announced last Summer.

Blackmagic ATEM Mini and Camera Update – February Event Start Times

Live stream starts on Wednesday, 17 February at these times:

  • Los Angeles 10 AM PST
  • New York 1 PM EST
  • London 6 PM GMT

Thursday, 18 February for Asia and Australia: 

  • Singapore 2 AM SGT
  • Tokyo 3 AM JST
  • Sydney 5 AM AEDT

Earlier today, Blackmagic Design also released Beta 9 for DaVinci Resolve 17.

You can watch the ATEM Mini and Camera Update live stream below:

After the announcement we’ll post the updates and any new camera releases in a separate blog post, so keep checking back. 


resolve 17 public beta

Blackmagic DaVinci Resolve 17 Beta 9 Now Available

tilta hydra alien car stabilizer system

TILTA Hydra Car Stabilization and Float Systems Updates